Rachel Brooks’ #MSWL Madness

March #MSWL Madness continues at BookEnds today! We’re all excited about digging into our queries and hope this helps steer you in the direction of who might be hungry for a story like yours. Of course, if you’re reading this several months after its original post date, it has likely changed again. We regularly update our submission wishlists here, so be sure to check that out too.

In ADULT FICTION, I’d like to see:
  • Commercial or upmarket stories with a strong hook. I love to armchair travel via novels set outside of the United States, especially if they’re #ownvoices like China Rich Girlfriend or Next Year in Havana with an immersive sense of place and culture.
In YOUNG ADULT, I’d love to find:
  • YA rom-coms in the vein of When Dimple Met Rishi or Hot Dog Girl. Must have a happy ending. I am NOT looking for cheating or characters outing other characters as a source of their relationship’s conflict.
  • YA thrillers that keep me on the edge of my seat, with a twist I didn’t see coming in the vein of One of Us Is Lying.
Some other books beyond the ones mentioned above that would grab my interest as comp titles:
  • American Panda by Gloria Chao
  • The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo
  • The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang
  • Wicked Fox by Kat Cho
  • Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

If any of the above bullet points sound like your manuscript, then please send your query to me at: http://QueryMe.Online/RachelBrooks (But if your query is currently with another BookEnds agent, then you’ll have to wait until you hear a decision from that agent first). Thanks and happy querying!

Category: BlogBrooksJunior

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.